PAST LIFE REGRESSION

by dahl2013

Past Life Regression – a technique that uses hypnosis to recover what practitioners believe are memories of past lives or incarnations, though others regard them as fantasies or delusions or a type of confabulation. Past life regression is typically undertaken either in pursuit of a spiritual experience, or in a psychotherapeutic setting. Most advocates loosely adhere to beliefs about reincarnation, though religious traditions that incorporate reincarnation generally do not include the idea of repressed memories of past lives.

Rowan talked a lot about reincarnation. He was convinced that he was a Japanese warrior in a previous life – this could have been because he felt he needed an excuse for his fascination with all things Japanese or it could have been because he had memories of this past life; memories that weren’t complete and vivid but memories that were shadows and dreams in a sleeping state. He chose to live his last years by adhering to the Samurai Code of Honour – he often spoke of this and his desire to live by their four simple rules; strength, respect, loyalty and honour. It was extremely rare that he ever criticized anyone. He never played the blame game. He was always the first to put his hand up if he had done something wrong. Jodie talked of him as a ‘warrior’ with ‘warrior energy’. She saw him standing in Samurai robes with a sword. She said he will always retain the ‘Rowan’ personality! She saw him looking on us, his family; Francis, Maree, Chris and I, ‘with kind, older, compassionate eyes’ – he is the teacher.

I have been thinking a lot recently about things that Rowie said to me; things that I didn’t give a whole lot of attention or credence to at the time. The more I think, the more memories come back to me. I wish so much now that I had paid attention to every little thing he said to me; that I had given him 100% of my attention rather than just listening with one ear whilst thinking about something else.

Don’t get me wrong. I am not beating myself up and labelling us bad parents. We spent many hours with both our children and still do. We read to them as babies and continued to do so as long as they allowed us to. We played games with them to the detriment of the house – constantly untidy and, to quote a friend ‘somewhat lived in’! My mother would stop doing anything to play cards with my sister and I as children and we played cards, board games, chess, Lego, puzzles with our boys. We watched nearly every rugby, soccer, softball and cricket game Francis played as a child and we watched Rowan excel at his chosen sports; kayak polo, swimming, javelin and archery. We certainly gave our children time – and continue to do so. We watch as many of Francis’ rugby and cricket games as we can and I stay in contact with Rowie as best I can with the severe restraints put upon us! Time is the best thing you can ever give to your children.

Certain things that Rowan said before he died had a sort of poignancy and have made us question whether, at some level, he was aware that he was going to pass early in life. As I have said before, throughout 2012 he was absolutely convinced that he wasn’t going to see 2013 and he died 26 December 2012. That same year he told me he didn’t want me to die before him because ‘he couldn’t bear it’. Through Jodie, Rowan said that he was grieving for himself before he went. Spiritually he knew what was coming. I understand this. He seemed to spend a lot of time in his room prior to his death. He was always full of beans and fun when he came out but we certainly noticed his time spent in solitude.

For some unexplained reason Rowie started taking a knife to bed with him. Again I wish I had questioned him further about this. We just put it down to Rowie’s quirkiness! When he stayed with Francis and Maree he hadn’t his knife with him so he raided the kitchen drawer for a suitable accompaniment to bed! I put it down to a strange spate of ‘zombie’ movies on the TV around this time! Why didn’t I ask him about this? I have heard from several people, and read, that sometimes, prior to death, spirit come to the person about to pass and wait for them. Maybe he was being visited at night by excited spirit looking forward to spending time with him.

I was lying in bed the other night; unsure whether I was day-dreaming or actually asleep; but I remembered Rowan saying to me ‘did you know mum, if you dream about falling off a cliff and you don’t wake up before you hit the bottom, you die’!
This announcement is typical of a child with an awesome imagination – but is there anything else to read into it? I wonder now if he was dreaming about falling off a cliff. I wonder if he was having a sort of premonition. I wish I had asked him questions at the time instead of smiling and putting this down to an active imagination.

I am going to do a past-life regression myself in a few weeks. I have a bit of a block and this could be due to a past life complication. I am looking forward to experiencing this and learning from it. Jill Harrison, a Level 12 medium from the UK suggested I do a regression some time ago and Lynn also feels this will be useful. I visited Dellaina in Christchurch last year and she channels Almora, an Ascended Master. Almora told me that I had been persecuted as a witch in a previous life!

Maybe I will discover that I was once the mother of a Samurai warrior………….

