DEJA VU

by dahl2013

Déjà vu – from French – literally “already seen”. This is the phenomenon of having the strong sensation that an event or experience currently being experienced has been experienced in the past, whether it has actually happened or not.

We all experience déjà vu at some stage or another in our lives. Some of us experience it lots of times and others may experience only the once which is all the more memorable.

We class this experience in many ways: some of us may look on it as an anomaly of our memory; our memory playing tricks. Others may look on it as a precognition or a prophecy. Certain scientific folk speculate that the experience of déjà vu is possibly a ‘neurological irregularity related to improper electrical discharge in the brain’. A number of us believe in the possibility that these déjà vu experiences are connected to something spiritual, something remembered from past lives.

For many of us déjà vu seems to come from a place deep in our psyche, far deeper than brain oriented memories. When you have a ‘déjà vu’ experience it feels far more emotionally driven with an unexplainable ‘familiar’ type sensation accompanying it. It feels overwhelmingly different to anything else we meet in our normal day to day lives. It hits hard when it arrives but only stays with us for maybe 20 seconds before it disappears.

Can déjà vu be related to our past lives? I’m not sure that this explains the full-blown déjà vu experience that some of us feel. If it were so then the past-life experience would have to be a relatively recent one to feel so familiar in present day terms.

The way I see it is that the human brain only holds memories and information from this lifetime on planet Earth. Our Spirit or soul, however, is capable of having infinite memories. Otherwise there would be no point in us having an ‘eternal’ life if we retained no memories of past lives and experiences – this is what our journey of learning is all about.

I’m not sure if Rowan experienced a lot of déjà vu. I know he had several episodes and they fascinated him. He asked me to explain the phenomenon to him and I struggled to provide him with anything worthy of acceptance. I never really analysed this occurrence; I guess I just accepted it as something that happens. Once more Rowan pushes me to continue questioning and learning. I find it absolutely incredible that the loss of life of a young, vibrant young man like Rowan can affect mine and other peoples’ lives so profoundly.

I have met many people since his death who have taught me countless things. My journey, guided by him, has helped one or two other people along the way.

Is this what my life is all about?

