SATURDAY NIGHT FUN

by dahl2013

There was a time when Saturday night was a ’night out on the town’; a few drinks, good company, maybe a nightclub followed by a good Anglo-Indian curry – home to bed and maybe see daylight again around 11.00 on Sunday!

Tonight I have had an awesome Saturday night.

It started a little earlier than they used to; around 6.00pm, with a beautiful drive out to The Nuggets. It was a delightful sunny evening. This drive takes us down through native bush peppered with tree ferns to the rugged, rocky Catlins coast – a treat in itself. We then take the unsealed road from Kaka Point out towards Nugget Point Lighthouse. Somewhere along the way is our destination; a house that sits above the sea with a view to die for. As you sit in the lounge you feel as if you are completely surrounded by sea; you can see it, hear it, and smell it.

The ambiance of the room as we enter is warm and welcoming. We have been invited to enjoy an evening for our souls – we left our egos behind at home! Maree and Janey joined me on this excursion so the trip out to The Nuggets was filled with interesting and lively conversation. The only improvement would have been to have the company of my boys too but they were away watching a New Zealand versus England Rugby League International in Dunedin (much more appealing for them)!

I have only ever visited my friend in daylight hours before. I have longed to see the sun set and the moon rise on the vista from her ample lounge window. This didn’t disappoint me in the slightest – it was actually far more stunning than I could ever have imagined.

I have read that Angels and spirit love the beauty that Mother Earth offers them – and The Nuggets in the Catlins (between Kaka Point and Owaka in coastal South Otago) is probably one of the finest examples of what Gaia can do to impress them! It is no wonder that my friend’s house has the most unique of atmospheres; a stillness and peace that is tangible. You can see it, hear it, touch it, feel it. You suspect that you may have been allowed into a very private place.

My friend has visitors. Terry and his wife are immediately welcoming and we warm to them at once. It is Terry that we are here to see. He is a light worker and teacher with many skills to share with us. We are joined by another two like-minded people who want to comprehend more about our purpose and our individual journeys. I always tend to feel inadequate when surrounded by spiritual people; I kind of feel that I’m not quite where they are and that I am, perhaps, missing something very important. Terry picks up on this immediately and talks about learning to love ourselves as the perfect beings we all are. I understand this but find it extremely difficult to maintain with enthusiasm in everyday life.

For the second time in twenty eight years my father comes to visit. Terry tells me that he was very surprised to find himself on the other side of the veil; having never believed in an afterlife I guess it was a huge shock for him. For a man who used to say ’Have you ever known me to be wrong’? this will have been hugely alarming and positively staggering! He tells me Rowan is doing fine and that I really should get my right hip looked at before it gets any worse! He is surrounded by animals and Terry laughs at the cacophony of beastly noises accompanying this visit. It comes as no surprise to me. My father was a veterinary surgeon during his last incarnation and he always used to say he preferred animals to people!

We enjoyed a shared supper and listened to each other’s experiences and stories. We shared our experiences of meditation and offered tips to each other to improve our success. We talked about auras and I was delighted to be told that I was surrounded by a warm golden aura as I sat there. We talked about past lives and it was confirmed, yet again, that I was a witch in a previous life – persecuted and killed in a horrendous way (and not surprisingly, this involved spiders). Could this possibly be the reason for my acute phobia in this lifetime?

Our return journey along the unsealed rocky coastal road was made all the more stunning by the appearance of a large, blood red moon rising out of the sea – truly awesome!

